UPMC
PITTSBURGH, PA · Health care and social assistance · sponsor EIN 25-1423657 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024
Plan terms
Plan terms are not published in public filings.
UPMC 401(A) RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLAN
Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $4,902,845,416 in assets · 78,379 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, multiple-employer · plan number 335
At a glance
98.2% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($60.89 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.
Plan features
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12
Service providers paid directly by the plan
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALIGHT FINANCIAL ADVISORS, LLC | PARTICIPANT ADVISORY | 26 Investment advisory (participants) | $2,774,515 | no |
| ALIGHT SOLUTIONS, LLC (recordkeeper) | RECORDKEEPER | 15 Recordkeeping and information management | $1,857,786 | yes |
| THE BNAK OF NEW YORK MELLON | TRUSTEE | 21 Trustee (bank, trust company or similar) | $223,293 | yes |
| D.B. ROOT COMPANY, LLC | CONSULTING | 17 Consulting (pension) | $122,142 | no |
| ERNST & YOUNG, LLP | AUDITING | 10 Accounting (including auditing) | $79,144 | no |
| COZEN O'CONNOR | LEGAL | 29 Legal | $11,627 | no |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12.
Master trust
UPMC DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PL TRUST (EIN 251423657, PN 998): plan interest $4,815,869,109, 52.4% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013185008NAL0000908387001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $9,185,383,283, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
Full record
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | UPMC | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Plan name | UPMC 401(A) RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 25-1423657 / 335 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Plan type | multiple-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Sponsor location | PITTSBURGH, PA | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Industry (business code) | 622000, Health care and social assistance | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-12 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 98,482 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Active participants | 98,498 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Participants, end of year | 112,002 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Participants with an account balance | 78,379 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $4,262,516,708 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Total assets, end of year | $4,902,845,416 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Net assets, end of year | $4,902,845,416 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Total income | $1,021,656,830 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Net income | $640,328,708 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Employer contributions | $195,297,595 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Participant contributions | $157,111,936 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $27,533,962 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Total contributions | $379,943,493 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Benefit payments | $376,241,923 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $381,328,122 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Total administrative expenses | $4,772,150 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Contract administrator fees | $2,478,158 | Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Recordkeeping fees | $1,857,786 | Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| IQPA audit fees | $79,144 | Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Investment advisory and management fees | $122,142 | Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $4,650,008 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Held in master trusts | $4,815,869,109 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
| Independent auditor | ERNST & YOUNG, LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251012111018NAL0000677424001, received 2025-10-12 |
What changed since the 2023 plan year
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $4,262,516,708 | $4,902,845,416 | 15.0% |
| Participants with a balance | 77,866 | 78,379 | 0.7% |
| Administrative expenses | $2,567,001 | $4,772,150 | 85.9% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | $23.24 | $23.70 | 2.0% |
| Employer contributions | $153,159,150 | $195,297,595 | 27.5% |
Prior filing 20241014162409NAL0013616035001, received 2024-10-14; the plan years are contiguous.
Alerts, claims and corrections
Sponsor name as filed: UPMC; SEC registrant: UPMC (CIK 1644244, matched by EIN).