National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

ARLINGTON, VA · Utilities · sponsor EIN 53-0116145 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024

Plan terms

Plan terms are not published in public filings.

401(K) PENSION PLAN

Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $16,840,459,887 in assets · 79,674 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, multiple-employer · plan number 444

At a glance

Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant (headline)
$418.72
higher than 100% of the 1,045 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_excl_invmgmt / participants_with_balance. derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Administrative expenses per participant
$594.08
higher than 99% of the 1,076 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_expenses / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.281%
higher than 99% of the 1,076 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_expenses / assets_eoy. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14 · assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Employer contributions per participant
$3,439
higher than 45% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Employer share of total contributions
31.8%
higher than 45% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / total_contrib. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14 · total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.

Plan features

2C · 2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor · 2X Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
NRECA (recordkeeper)PLAN SPONSOR 14 Plan administrator; 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 28 Investment management; 29 Legal; 37 Participant loan processing; 38 Participant communication; 50 Direct payment from the plan $26,188,572no
T ROWE PRICE ASSOCIATES INCINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 68 Soft dollars commissions $5,055,832yes
BLACKROCK INSTITUTIONAL TRUST COINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 21 Trustee (bank, trust company or similar); 24 Trustee (discretionary); 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 68 Soft dollars commissions $3,217,495no
VOYA INSTITUTIONAL PLAN SERVICESCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $1,843,033no
BLACKROCK FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT INCINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $1,597,342no
JACOBS LEVY EQUITY MANAGEMENT INCINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $1,139,434no
DECISIONPATH CONSULTINGCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $908,992no
LOCKTON COMPANIESINSURANCE AGENT 22 Insurance agents and brokers; 50 Direct payment from the plan $869,500no
CAPITAL INTERNATIONAL INCINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $819,264no
LSV ASSET MANAGEMENTINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $733,243no
PACIFIC INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT COINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $675,498yes
OPTOMI LLCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $524,002no
CHESAPEAKE BENEFIT PARTNERS LLCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $489,413no
ENTERPRISE IRON FIS INCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $432,459no
PINNACLE DATA SYSTEMS LLCPARTICIPANT COMMUNICATION 38 Participant communication; 50 Direct payment from the plan $405,970no
CONVERGENZ LLCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $364,944no
EXPERIS IT SERVICESCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $324,329no
STATE STREET GLOBAL ADVISORS TRUSTINVESTMENT MANAGEMETN 18 Custodial (other than securities); 19 Custodial (securities); 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $309,476yes
NEUBERGER BERMAN GROUP LLCINVESTMENT MANAGEMENT 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $294,021yes
STATE STREET BANKTRUSTEE 19 Custodial (securities); 25 Trustee (directed); 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 99 Other fees; 62 Float revenue; 63 Distribution (12b-1) fees $290,171yes
FIS CAPITAL MARKETS US LLCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $281,344no
SIRIUS COMPUTER SOLUTIONS INCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $179,550no
RVK INCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $129,998no
SIGNATURE COMMERCIAL SOLUTIONS LLCCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $128,832no
BDO USA LLPCONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $98,926no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14.

Full record

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorNATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATIONForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Plan name401(K) PENSION PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Sponsor EIN / plan number53-0116145 / 444Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Plan typemultiple-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Sponsor locationARLINGTON, VAForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Industry (business code)221100, UtilitiesForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Filing received2025-10-14Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Participants, beginning of year80,880Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Active participants61,593Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Participants, end of year80,475Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Participants with an account balance79,674Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Total assets, beginning of year$14,978,676,240Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Total assets, end of year$16,840,459,887Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Net assets, end of year$16,717,296,057Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Total income$2,963,783,755Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Net income$1,863,356,141Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Employer contributions$274,033,905Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Participant contributions$482,064,975Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$106,555,614Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Total contributions$862,654,494Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Benefit payments$1,053,094,927Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$1,100,427,614Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Total administrative expenses$47,332,687Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Contract administrator fees$26,188,572Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
IQPA audit fees$75,640Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Investment advisory and management fees$13,971,604Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$33,361,083derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Held in common/collective trusts$10,491,248,803Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Held in mutual funds$211,548,867Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14
Independent auditorCLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, received 2025-10-14

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$14,978,676,240$16,840,459,88712.4%
Participants with a balance77,70679,6742.5%
Administrative expenses$43,513,362$47,332,6878.8%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$249,882,900$274,033,9059.7%

Prior filing 20241015145712NAL0030059745001, received 2024-10-15; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for 401(K) PENSION PLAN appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION; SEC registrant: NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION (CIK 833018, matched by EIN).