UnitedHealth Group
UnitedHealth Group Incorporated · MINNETONKA, MN · UNH (NYSE) · Professional, scientific, and technical services · sponsor EIN 41-1321939 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024
plan sponsor as filed: Unitedhealth Group Incorporated; SEC registrant: Unitedhealth Group Inc.
Plan terms
Quoted from UnitedHealth Group Incorporated's SEC filing covering the period ended 2025-12-31. The figures on this page cover the plan year ended 2024-12-31, a different period: terms may have changed between the two. The plan document governs; these are the filing's own words.
Employer match
“The Company makes a safe harbor matching contribution equal to 100% of contributions up to 3% of eligible compensation, plus 50% of the next 3% of eligible compensation for a maximum contribution of 4.5% per payroll period as defined in the Plan document.”
As stated in UnitedHealth Group Incorporated's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, contributions section.
Eligibility
“In general, eligible employees may make salary deferral contributions to the Plan upon employment with a participating employer of the Company and are automatically enrolled in the Plan as soon as administratively feasible after their hire date.”
As stated in UnitedHealth Group Incorporated's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, eligibility section.
Vesting
“Employer safe harbor contributions and discretionary contributions, if any, and earnings thereon vest in accordance with the provisions of the Plan as follows:”
As stated in UnitedHealth Group Incorporated's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, vesting section.
Automatic enrollment
“Eligible employees are automatically enrolled at an employee pretax deferral rate of 3% of their eligible pay,”
As stated in UnitedHealth Group Incorporated's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, contributions section.
UNITEDHEALTH GROUP 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN
Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $26,618,762,181 in assets · 263,728 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 001
At a glance
92.7% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($22.88 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.
Plan features
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Service providers paid directly by the plan
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FIDELITY INVST INSTNL OPRTN CO, INC (recordkeeper) | RECORDKEEPER | 64 Recordkeeping fees; 37 Participant loan processing; 65 Account maintenance fees; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees; 50 Direct payment from the plan | $6,033,226 | yes |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16.
Master trust
UHG 401K SAVINGS PLAN MASTER TR (EIN 300993007, PN 001): plan interest $24,665,949,142, 79.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013125559NAL0002889554001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $31,004,944,005, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 2 Schedule C providers.
| Provider (trust level) | Service codes | Paid by the trust | Allocated to this plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| FIDELITY INVST INSTNL OPRTN CO, INC (recordkeeper) | 37 64 65 71 | $0 | $0 |
| GALLIARD CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, INC. | 10 21 28 67 72 99 13 52 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
Full record
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | UNITEDHEALTH GROUP INCORPORATED | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Plan name | UNITEDHEALTH GROUP 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 41-1321939 / 001 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Sponsor location | MINNETONKA, MN | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Industry (business code) | 541990, Professional, scientific, and technical services | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Filing received | 2025-07-16 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 278,507 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Active participants | 199,134 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Participants, end of year | 274,906 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Participants with an account balance | 263,728 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $22,432,100,178 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Total assets, end of year | $26,618,762,181 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Net assets, end of year | $26,618,762,181 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Total income | $5,533,871,638 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Net income | $3,315,098,852 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Employer contributions | $665,377,224 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Participant contributions | $1,460,702,106 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $203,296,609 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Total contributions | $2,329,375,939 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Benefit payments | $2,211,786,861 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $2,218,772,786 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Total administrative expenses | $6,033,226 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Recordkeeping fees | $6,033,226 | Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $6,033,226 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Held in master trusts | $24,665,949,142 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
| Independent auditor | DELOITTE & TOUCHE, LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16 |
What changed since the 2023 plan year
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $22,432,100,178 | $26,618,762,181 | 18.7% |
| Participants with a balance | 267,455 | 263,728 | -1.4% |
| Administrative expenses | $6,935,140 | $6,033,226 | -13.0% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | $25.93 | $22.88 | -11.8% |
| Employer contributions | $628,955,721 | $665,377,224 | 5.8% |
Prior filing 20240621091513NAL0003508144001, received 2024-06-21; the plan years are contiguous.
Alerts, claims and corrections
Sponsor name as filed: UNITEDHEALTH GROUP INCORPORATED; SEC registrant: UNITEDHEALTH GROUP INC (CIK 731766, matched by EIN).