Target

Target Corporation · BROOKLYN PARK, MN · TGT (NYSE) · Retail trade · sponsor EIN 41-0215170 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024

SEC registrant: Target Corp.

Plan terms

Quoted from Target Corporation's SEC filing covering the period ended 2026-01-31. The figures on this page cover the plan year ended 2024-12-31, a different period: terms may have changed between the two. The plan document governs; these are the filing's own words.

Employer match

“We match 100 percent of each team member's contribution up to 5 percent of eligible earnings.”

As stated in Target Corporation's Form 10-K filed 2026-03-11, for the period ended 2026-01-31 (SEC): source document; 10-K benefits note section.

TARGET CORPORATION 401(K) PLAN

Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $14,419,645,154 in assets · 219,259 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 002

At a glance

Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant
$0.00
= admin_excl_invmgmt / participants_with_balance. derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Administrative expenses per participant
$0.00
= admin_expenses / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.000%
= admin_expenses / assets_eoy. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 · assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Employer contributions per participant
$1,744
higher than 14% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Employer share of total contributions
36.6%
higher than 63% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / total_contrib. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 · total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02

98.3% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $21,297,646 ($97.13 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2I · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02

Service providers paid directly by the plan

No Schedule C is attached to this plan's filing; providers are reported on the master trust's filing (below).

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02.

Master trust

TARGET CORPORATION MASTER 401K TRST (EIN 410215170, PN 005): plan interest $14,169,927,224, 100.0% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251002094100NAL0000907202001, received 2025-10-02) reports net assets $14,171,226,804, administrative expenses $21,299,599, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $12,632,517 and 9 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
ALIGHT FINANCIAL ADVISORS, LLC26 50$8,651,442$8,650,649
ALIGHT SOLUTIONS LLC13 38 50$7,185,054$7,184,395
BLACKROCK INSTITUTIONAL TRUST CO.21 24 28 50 51$3,156,297$3,156,008
STATE STREET BANK AND TRUST COMPANY19 25 28 50 51 62 63 99$1,148,446$1,148,341
STATE STREET GLOBAL ADVISORS TRUST18 19 28 50 51 52$824,778$824,702
ED DESIGN49 50$224,952$224,931
HERRON PALMER16 50$47,880$47,876
ERNST & YOUNG LLP10 50$42,000$41,996
CALLAN LLC16 50$18,750$18,748

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

Full record

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorTARGET CORPORATIONForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Plan nameTARGET CORPORATION 401(K) PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Sponsor EIN / plan number41-0215170 / 002Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Sponsor locationBROOKLYN PARK, MNForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Industry (business code)452200, Retail tradeForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Filing received2025-10-02Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Participants, beginning of year475,573Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Active participants427,999Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Participants, end of year495,482Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Participants with an account balance219,259Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Total assets, beginning of year$13,008,265,857Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Total assets, end of year$14,419,645,154Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Net assets, end of year$14,411,303,076Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Total income$2,585,203,658Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Net income$1,410,908,676Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Employer contributions$382,473,638Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Participant contributions$631,153,718Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$30,196,690Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Total contributions$1,043,824,046Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Benefit payments$1,153,085,994Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$1,174,294,982Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Total administrative expenses$0Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$0derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Held in master trusts$14,169,927,224Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Independent auditorERNST & YOUNG LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$13,008,265,857$14,419,645,15410.8%
Participants with a balance212,664219,2593.1%
Administrative expenses$0$0
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$356,492,610$382,473,6387.3%

Prior filing 20241008100150NAL0017380305001, received 2024-10-08; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for TARGET CORPORATION 401(K) PLAN appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: TARGET CORPORATION; SEC registrant: TARGET CORP (CIK 27419, matched by EIN).