State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company · BLOOMINGTON, IL · Finance and insurance · sponsor EIN 37-0533100 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024

SEC registrant: State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co.

Plan terms

Plan terms are not published in public filings.

STATE FARM 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN

Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $19,010,099,056 in assets · 99,752 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 002

At a glance

Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant (headline)
$5.87
higher than 6% of the 1,045 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_excl_invmgmt / participants_with_balance. derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Administrative expenses per participant
$5.87
higher than 2% of the 1,076 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_expenses / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.003%
higher than 3% of the 1,076 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_expenses / assets_eoy. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10 · assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Employer contributions per participant
$1,436
higher than 10% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Employer share of total contributions
22.7%
higher than 16% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / total_contrib. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10 · total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC. (recordkeeper)NONE 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 16 Consulting (general); 25 Trustee (directed); 37 Participant loan processing; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan $585,741yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10.

Full record

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorSTATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANYForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Plan nameSTATE FARM 401(K) SAVINGS PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Sponsor EIN / plan number37-0533100 / 002Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Sponsor locationBLOOMINGTON, ILForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Industry (business code)524150, Finance and insuranceForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Filing received2025-10-10Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Participants, beginning of year102,869Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Active participants67,476Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Participants, end of year101,896Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Participants with an account balance99,752Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Total assets, beginning of year$16,935,002,041Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Total assets, end of year$19,010,099,056Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Net assets, end of year$19,010,099,056Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Total income$3,539,157,965Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Net income$2,075,097,015Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Employer contributions$143,253,987Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Participant contributions$449,892,836Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$39,320,577Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Total contributions$632,467,400Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Benefit payments$1,463,452,044Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$1,464,060,950Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Total administrative expenses$585,741Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$585,741derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Held in common/collective trusts$18,029,706,491Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Held in mutual funds$772,771,972Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10
Independent auditorPRICEWATERHOUSECOOPERSSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251010104106NAL0007965633001, received 2025-10-10

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$16,935,002,041$19,010,099,05612.3%
Participants with a balance100,56199,752-0.8%
Administrative expenses$4,725$585,74112296.6%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$105,270,695$143,253,98736.1%

Prior filing 20241012073558NAL0013220547001, received 2024-10-12; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for STATE FARM 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY; SEC registrant: STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE CO (CIK 315032, matched by EIN).