Microsoft

Microsoft Corporation · REDMOND, WA · MSFT (Nasdaq) · Information · sponsor EIN 91-1144442 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024

SEC registrant: Microsoft Corp.

Plan terms

Quoted from Microsoft Corporation's SEC filing covering the period ended 2025-12-31. The figures on this page cover the plan year ended 2024-12-31, a different period: terms may have changed between the two. The plan document governs; these are the filing's own words.

Employer match

“The Sponsor provides participants with a matching contribution on eligible pre-tax contributions up to 50 percent of the amount of the participant’s contribution.”

As stated in Microsoft Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-25, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, contributions section.

Eligibility

“Eligible employees may become a participant in the Plan immediately on their hire date since there is no service requirement to become a Plan participant.”

As stated in Microsoft Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-25, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, eligibility section.

Vesting

“Participants are fully vested in Plan accounts at all times.”

As stated in Microsoft Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-25, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, vesting section.

MICROSOFT CORPORATION SAVINGS PLUS 401K PLAN

Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $65,646,011,638 in assets · 177,887 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 001

Filed as negative.Schedule H line 2i(3) is reported as -$248,284. The filing is shown as received; the derived figures below treat a negative amount as zero, and a percentile is only shown for positive values.

At a glance

Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant (headline)
$2.77
higher than 3% of the 1,045 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_excl_invmgmt / participants_with_balance. derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Administrative expenses per participant
$181.46
higher than 91% of the 1,076 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_expenses / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.049%
higher than 53% of the 1,076 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= admin_expenses / assets_eoy. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27 · assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Employer contributions per participant
$6,518
higher than 80% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Employer share of total contributions
25.4%
higher than 23% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / total_contrib. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27 · total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2I · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2R participant brokerage window · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
RUSSELL INVESTMENTSNONE 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $13,313,150yes
ARTISAN PARTNERS LIMITED PARTNERSHINONE 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 68 Soft dollars commissions $9,583,450yes
STRATEGIC ADVISORS, INC.NONE 27 Investment advisory (plan); 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $3,520,925no
PIMCONONE 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $2,102,164yes
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL (recordkeeper)NONE 37 Participant loan processing; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees; 64 Recordkeeping fees; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 65 Account maintenance fees $1,503,512yes
DIMENSIONAL FUND ADVISORSNONE 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $1,367,280yes
SILVERCREST ASSET MANAGEMENT GROUPNONE 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 68 Soft dollars commissions $820,837yes
ARIEL INVESTMENTSNONE 28 Investment management; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 68 Soft dollars commissions $328,560yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27.

Full record

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorMICROSOFT CORPORATIONForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Plan nameMICROSOFT CORPORATION SAVINGS PLUS 401K PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Sponsor EIN / plan number91-1144442 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Sponsor locationREDMOND, WAForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Industry (business code)511210, InformationForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Filing received2025-06-27Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Participants, beginning of year177,531Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Active participants123,878Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Participants, end of year183,509Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Participants with an account balance177,887Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Total assets, beginning of year$53,225,853,429Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Total assets, end of year$65,646,011,638Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Net assets, end of year$65,624,033,827Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Total income$15,149,567,042Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Net income$12,185,189,246Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Employer contributions$1,159,497,574Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Participant contributions$2,993,204,994Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$418,009,289Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Total contributions$4,570,711,857Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Benefit payments$2,932,098,360Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$2,964,377,796Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Total administrative expenses$32,279,436Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Contract administrator fees$95,850Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Recordkeeping fees-$248,284 (filed as negative)Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Investment advisory and management fees$31,786,959Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$492,477derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Held in common/collective trusts$38,688,110,749Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Held in mutual funds$12,817,628,220Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27
Independent auditorDELOITTE & TOUCHE, LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250627162504NAL0005423731001, received 2025-06-27

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$53,225,853,429$65,646,011,63823.3%
Participants with a balance172,201177,8873.3%
Administrative expenses$21,737,806$32,279,43648.5%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$2.97not reported
Employer contributions$1,104,421,787$1,159,497,5745.0%

Prior filing 20240730192503NAL0032915856001, received 2024-07-30; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for MICROSOFT CORPORATION SAVINGS PLUS 401K PLAN appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: MICROSOFT CORPORATION; SEC registrant: MICROSOFT CORP (CIK 789019, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 11-K cover).