HCA
HCA Inc. · NASHVILLE, TN · Health care and social assistance · sponsor EIN 75-2497104 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024
Plan terms
Plan terms are not published in public filings.
HCA 401(K) PLAN
Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $23,821,303,026 in assets · 340,796 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 004
At a glance
95.1% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $22,313,770 ($65.48 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.
Plan features
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10
Service providers paid directly by the plan
No Schedule C is attached to this plan's filing; providers are reported on the master trust's filing (below).
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10.
Master trust
HCA INC. MASTER RETIREMENT TRUST (EIN 621160563, PN 001): plan interest $22,649,648,864, 96.9% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251010135749NAL0004680979001, received 2025-10-10) reports net assets $23,367,437,244, administrative expenses $23,020,914, recordkeeping fees $11,370,582, investment management fees $7,894,766 and 16 Schedule C providers.
| Provider (trust level) | Service codes | Paid by the trust | Allocated to this plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| CONDUENT HR SERVICES (recordkeeper) | 15 37 50 64 | $10,420,919 | $10,100,815 |
| NORTHERN TRUST COMPANY | 24 28 50 51 | $4,571,017 | $4,430,607 |
| GUGGENHEIM PARTNERS INVESTMENT MGMT | 28 51 | $1,546,139 | $1,498,646 |
| COLUMBIA MANAGEMENT INVESTMENT ADVI | 28 51 | $1,541,861 | $1,494,499 |
| FINANCIAL SOUNDINGS LLC | 26 50 | $1,000,000 | $969,283 |
| ALIGHT SOLUTIONS LLC (recordkeeper) | 15 50 | $949,662 | $920,491 |
| T.ROWE PRICE | 28 51 | $814,471 | $789,453 |
| RETIREMENT CLEARINGHOUSE, LLC | 49 50 | $670,223 | $649,635 |
| BLACKROCK INSTITUTIONAL TRUST CO NA | 28 51 | $570,124 | $552,611 |
| CURCIO WEBB | 16 50 | $481,988 | $467,183 |
| SMITH, GAMBRELL & RUSSELL | 29 50 | $158,287 | $153,425 |
| SOWDEN & ASSOCIATES, INC. | 36 50 | $126,863 | $122,966 |
| CBIZ INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERV | 16 50 | $72,500 | $70,273 |
| HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP | 29 50 | $41,794 | $40,510 |
| WILLIS TOWERS WATSON | 16 50 | $16,638 | $16,127 |
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
Full record
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | HCA INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Plan name | HCA 401(K) PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 75-2497104 / 004 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Sponsor location | NASHVILLE, TN | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Industry (business code) | 622000, Health care and social assistance | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-10 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 377,504 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Active participants | 310,762 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participants, end of year | 379,101 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participants with an account balance | 340,796 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $21,535,173,660 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total assets, end of year | $23,821,303,026 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Net assets, end of year | $23,812,452,903 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total income | $4,842,453,459 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Net income | $2,282,310,906 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Employer contributions | $671,251,989 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participant contributions | $1,295,092,990 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $129,855,100 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total contributions | $2,096,200,079 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Benefit payments | $2,555,234,776 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $2,560,142,553 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total administrative expenses | $0 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $0 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Held in master trusts | $22,649,648,864 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Independent auditor | ERNST & YOUNG | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251010135413NAL0013242288001, received 2025-10-10 |
What changed since the 2023 plan year
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $21,535,173,660 | $23,821,303,026 | 10.6% |
| Participants with a balance | 341,220 | 340,796 | -0.1% |
| Administrative expenses | $0 | $0 | |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $637,372,902 | $671,251,989 | 5.3% |
Prior filing 20241008140601NAL0034947538001, received 2024-10-08; the plan years are contiguous.
Alerts, claims and corrections
Sponsor name as filed: HCA INC.; SEC registrant: HCA Inc./DE (CIK 1526688, matched by EIN).