Charter Communications
Charter Communications, Inc. · CHARLOTTE, NC · CHTR (Nasdaq) · Information · sponsor EIN 84-1496755 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024
Plan terms
Quoted from Charter Communications, Inc.'s SEC filing covering the period ended 2025-12-31. The figures on this page cover the plan year ended 2024-12-31, a different period: terms may have changed between the two. The plan document governs; these are the filing's own words.
Employer match
“The Company’s matching contribution is discretionary and is equal to 100% of the amount of the salary reduction the participant elects to defer (up to 6% of the participant’s eligible compensation), excluding any catch-up contributions and is paid by the Company on a per pay period basis.”
As stated in Charter Communications, Inc.'s Form 10-K filed 2026-01-30, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; 10-K benefits note section.
Eligibility
“Most employees of the Company become eligible to participate in the Plan on the first day of the calendar month coinciding with or following 90 days of employment.”
As stated in Charter Communications, Inc.'s Form 11-K filed 2026-06-22, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, eligibility section.
Vesting
“Company contributions and the earnings thereon generally vest based upon a number of full years of service within a period of service, as defined in the Plan, as follows:”
As stated in Charter Communications, Inc.'s Form 11-K filed 2026-06-22, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, vesting section.
CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, INC. 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN
Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $8,948,538,930 in assets · 114,721 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 004
At a glance
97.6% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $8,383,112 ($73.07 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.
Plan features
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13
Service providers paid directly by the plan
No Schedule C is attached to this plan's filing; providers are reported on the master trust's filing (below).
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13.
Master trust
CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS DC PLANS MT (EIN 841496755, PN 101): plan interest $8,731,182,492, 85.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013164803NAL0001619809001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $10,202,313,890, administrative expenses $9,795,596, recordkeeping fees $5,154,996, investment management fees $4,332,865 and 5 Schedule C providers.
| Provider (trust level) | Service codes | Paid by the trust | Allocated to this plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| FID INV INST OPS CO (recordkeeper) | 15 37 64 65 71 | $5,154,996 | $4,411,667 |
| STRATEGIC ADVISORS, INC. | 27 51 | $4,404,237 | $3,769,164 |
| TOWERS WATSON | 16 50 | $229,772 | $196,640 |
| ARMANINO LLP | 10 50 | $77,963 | $66,721 |
| STATE STREET GLOBAL ADV | 27 51 | $9,973 | $8,535 |
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
Full record
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Plan name | CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, INC. 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 84-1496755 / 004 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Sponsor location | CHARLOTTE, NC | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Industry (business code) | 517000, Information | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-13 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 128,248 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Active participants | 94,858 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Participants, end of year | 120,688 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Participants with an account balance | 114,721 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $7,868,553,769 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Total assets, end of year | $8,948,538,930 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Net assets, end of year | $8,947,900,437 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Total income | $2,032,699,682 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Net income | $1,079,346,668 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Employer contributions | $338,786,427 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Participant contributions | $561,349,405 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $39,503,910 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Total contributions | $939,639,742 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Benefit payments | $952,807,235 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $953,353,014 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Total administrative expenses | $0 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $0 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Held in master trusts | $8,731,182,492 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
| Independent auditor | ARMANINO LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251013172855NAL0000860659001, received 2025-10-13 |
What changed since the 2023 plan year
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $7,868,553,769 | $8,948,538,930 | 13.7% |
| Participants with a balance | 120,392 | 114,721 | -4.7% |
| Administrative expenses | $0 | $0 | |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $346,953,424 | $338,786,427 | -2.4% |
Prior filing 20240807121640NAL0003643537001, received 2024-08-07; the plan years are contiguous.
Alerts, claims and corrections
Sponsor name as filed: CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, INC.; SEC registrant: CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS, INC. /MO/ (CIK 1091667, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 11-K cover).