Boeing
The Boeing Company · SEATTLE, WA · BA (NYSE) · Manufacturing · sponsor EIN 91-0425694 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024
plan sponsor as filed: The Boeing Co. and Consolidated Subsidiaries; SEC registrant: Boeing Co.
Plan terms
Quoted from The Boeing Company's SEC filing. The figures on this page cover the plan year ended 2024-12-31, a different period: terms may have changed between the two. The plan document governs; these are the filing's own words.
Eligibility
“An eligible employee of The Boeing Company (the “Company” or “Boeing”) or one of its adopting subsidiaries becomes eligible to participate on the first day of employment.”
As stated in The Boeing Company's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16 (SEC): source document; plan description note, general (fallback) section.
Vesting
“Member contributions, Boeing’s contributions, and earnings on those contributions are immediately vested.”
As stated in The Boeing Company's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16 (SEC): source document; plan description note, vesting section.
Automatic enrollment
“The Plan includes an auto-enrollment provision for newly-eligible employees unless they affirmatively elect not to participate in the Plan.”
As stated in The Boeing Company's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16 (SEC): source document; plan description note, general section.
THE BOEING COMPANY 401(K) RETIREMENT PLAN
Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $73,910,477,714 in assets · 215,449 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 002
At a glance
99.0% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $102,401,986 ($475.30 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.
Plan features
2E profit-sharing · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25
Service providers paid directly by the plan
No Schedule C is attached to this plan's filing; providers are reported on the master trust's filing (below).
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25.
Master trust
TBC ESP MT INVESTMENT ACCOUNT (EIN 910425694, PN 092): plan interest $73,154,261,402, 100.0% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251010132000NAL0004646723001, received 2025-10-10) reports net assets $73,154,261,402, administrative expenses $102,401,986, recordkeeping fees $1,180,686, investment management fees $89,902,401 and 49 Schedule C providers.
| Provider (trust level) | Service codes | Paid by the trust | Allocated to this plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| EDELMAN FINANCIAL ENGINES, LLC | 26 28 50 99 | $23,419,760 | $23,419,760 |
| MFS INSTITUTIONAL ADVISORS, INC. | 28 51 68 | $5,110,659 | $5,110,659 |
| WELLINGTON TRUST COMPANY NA | 28 51 | $4,030,012 | $4,030,012 |
| JP MORGAN INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC | 27 28 51 | $3,973,378 | $3,973,378 |
| PACIFIC INVESTMENT MGMT CO LLC | 28 51 | $3,972,170 | $3,972,170 |
| WELLINGTON MANAGEMENT COMPANY LLP | 28 51 68 | $3,679,494 | $3,679,494 |
| BLACKROCK FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT, INC (recordkeeper) | 15 28 50 51 | $3,286,657 | $3,286,657 |
| THE NORTHERN TRUST COMPANY | 21 25 50 62 | $2,558,934 | $2,558,934 |
| ACADIAN ASSET MANAGEMENT LLC | 28 51 | $2,294,775 | $2,294,775 |
| JENNISON ASSOCIATES LLC | 28 51 68 | $2,120,463 | $2,120,463 |
| PGIM, INC. | 51 | $2,091,974 | $2,091,974 |
| COOKE & BIELER, LP | 28 51 52 68 71 | $1,658,202 | $1,658,202 |
| NUMERIC INVESTORS LLC | 28 51 68 71 | $1,650,428 | $1,650,428 |
| WILLIAM BLAIR INVESTMENT MGMT, LLC | 28 51 68 | $1,587,169 | $1,587,169 |
| THE BOEING COMPANY | 10 14 28 35 50 | $1,582,256 | $1,582,256 |
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
Full record
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Plan name | THE BOEING COMPANY 401(K) RETIREMENT PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 91-0425694 / 002 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Sponsor location | SEATTLE, WA | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Industry (business code) | 336410, Manufacturing | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Filing received | 2025-07-25 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 216,698 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Active participants | 143,146 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Participants, end of year | 217,061 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Participants with an account balance | 215,449 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $72,246,135,158 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Total assets, end of year | $73,910,477,714 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Net assets, end of year | $73,834,695,477 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Total income | $8,784,955,046 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Net income | $1,587,198,305 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Employer contributions | $1,418,650,874 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Participant contributions | $1,882,831,706 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $243,270,988 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Total contributions | $3,544,753,568 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Benefit payments | $7,195,941,264 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $7,197,756,741 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Total administrative expenses | $0 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $0 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Held in master trusts | $73,154,261,402 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
| Independent auditor | DELOITTE & TOUCHE,LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250725165111NAL0006865489001, received 2025-07-25 |
What changed since the 2023 plan year
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $72,246,135,158 | $73,910,477,714 | 2.3% |
| Participants with a balance | 215,082 | 215,449 | 0.2% |
| Administrative expenses | $0 | $0 | |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $1,553,702,239 | $1,418,650,874 | -8.7% |
Prior filing 20240709104247NAL0007805059001, received 2024-07-09; the plan years are contiguous.
Alerts, claims and corrections
Sponsor name as filed: THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES; SEC registrant: BOEING CO (CIK 12927, matched by EIN).