Bank of America

Bank of America Corporation · CHARLOTTE, NC · BAC (NYSE) · Management of companies and enterprises · sponsor EIN 56-0906609 · 1 plan with Schedule H financials, latest plan year 2024

SEC registrant: Bank of America Corp.

Plan terms

Quoted from Bank of America Corporation's SEC filing covering the period ended 2025-12-31. The figures on this page cover the plan year ended 2024-12-31, a different period: terms may have changed between the two. The plan document governs; these are the filing's own words.

Employer match

“The company matching contribution is calculated and allocated to the participant’s account on a pay period basis beginning the first of the month after the participant earns 12 months of vesting service and equals up to 5% of Plan-eligible compensation (subject to the Plan’s applicable match-eligible compensation limit) contributed by the participant for the pay period.”

As stated in Bank of America Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, contributions section.

Eligibility

“However, any employee hired on or after April 1, 2021, and classified as an “intern” under the personnel policy of a participating employer, must perform at least 1,000 Hours of Service in a 12-month period or 500 Hours of Service during two consecutive 12-month eligibility computation periods, to participate in the Plan.”

As stated in Bank of America Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, general (fallback) section.

Vesting

“Each participant is 100% vested in the participant’s pre-tax, Roth (after-tax) and rollover contributions to the Plan and company matching as well as earnings thereon.”

As stated in Bank of America Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, vesting section.

Automatic enrollment

“The Plan has an automatic enrollment feature for newly-hired employees with a default elective deferral rate of 3% of covered compensation, subject to a 45-day opt-out election, with automatic annual increases of 1% up to a ceiling of 5%.”

As stated in Bank of America Corporation's Form 11-K filed 2026-06-16, for the period ended 2025-12-31 (SEC): source document; plan description note, general section.

THE BANK OF AMERICA 401(K) PLAN

Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 · $62,902,405,616 in assets · 248,103 participants with a balance · >$1B bucket, single-employer · plan number 003

At a glance

Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant
$0.00
= admin_excl_invmgmt / participants_with_balance. derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Administrative expenses per participant
$0.00
= admin_expenses / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.000%
= admin_expenses / assets_eoy. Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21 · assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Employer contributions per participant
$5,188
higher than 70% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / participants_with_balance. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21 · participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Employer share of total contributions
42.2%
higher than 79% of the 1,135 plans of similar size (>$1B) that report it
= employer_contrib / total_contrib. Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21 · total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21

7.9% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $1,398,719 ($5.64 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans of the same asset bucket and plan year, excluding final filings; a percentile is shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. The match formula is not in the filing; only amounts are shown.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · 3J Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21

Service providers paid directly by the plan

No Schedule C is attached to this plan's filing; providers are reported on the master trust's filing (below).

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21.

Master trust

STABLE VALUE MASTER TRUST (EIN 560906609, PN 010): plan interest $4,999,859,556, 97.2% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250721130621NAL0000692771001, received 2025-07-21) reports net assets $5,144,657,423, administrative expenses $1,439,226, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $1,439,181 and 1 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
INSIGHT INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT28 50 51$1,439,181$1,398,675

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

Full record

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorBANK OF AMERICA CORPORATIONForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Plan nameTHE BANK OF AMERICA 401(K) PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Sponsor EIN / plan number56-0906609 / 003Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Sponsor locationCHARLOTTE, NCForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Industry (business code)551111, Management of companies and enterprisesForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Filing received2025-07-21Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Participants, beginning of year254,477Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Active participants168,229Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Participants, end of year250,040Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Participants with an account balance248,103Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Total assets, beginning of year$54,848,846,192Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Total assets, end of year$62,902,405,616Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Net assets, end of year$62,887,854,391Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Total income$12,326,060,315Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Net income$8,048,257,836Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Employer contributions$1,287,193,919Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Participant contributions$1,643,940,675Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$121,757,347Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Total contributions$3,052,891,941Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Benefit payments$4,277,802,479Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$4,277,802,479Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Total administrative expenses$0Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$0derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Held in master trusts$4,999,859,556Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Held in common/collective trusts$43,908,119,299Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Held in mutual funds$5,867,729,542Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21
Independent auditorMCCONNELL & JONES LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250721130517NAL0000605299001, received 2025-07-21

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$54,848,846,192$62,902,405,61614.7%
Participants with a balance252,082248,103-1.6%
Administrative expenses$0$0
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$1,253,316,447$1,287,193,9192.7%

Prior filing 20240717090659NAL0002379907001, received 2024-07-17; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for THE BANK OF AMERICA 401(K) PLAN appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION; SEC registrant: BANK OF AMERICA CORP /DE/ (CIK 70858, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 11-K cover).